Your travel at a glance ...
Starting your residence look and read all the suggested tours of Nafplio, the Argos-Mycenae municipality in Epidaurus. Day trips organized by Tolo for visits to Mystras, Sparta, Olympia, Delphi and Athens, while your cruise going to navigate from near Spetses, Hydra, Poros and Monemvasia.To Tolo is an ideal place for any kind of vacation, both for those who want to enjoy the genuine pure Greek sea, and for those who want to experience the beauty of the nearby areas.
Isthmus of Corinth
The Isthmus of Corinth was a dream building – a challenge that lasted 2300 years. Due to its geographical position, “Afneios Corinth” emerged from antiquity into an important nautical, commercial and cultural center. The difficulty in transporting goods overland pushed the tyrant Periander of Corinth to build the famous diolkos. The canal cuts a straight line the Corinth Canal in length 6346 m. Its width at sea level is 24.6 m. And the bottom of 21.3 m. And its depth varies between 7.50 to 8 m . The total volume of soil that were extracted for the construction reached 12 million cubic meters. Today the Corinth Canal is an international marine transportation hub and serves around 12,000 ships a year, of all nationalities.
Greek pyramids — Argolis
9 km approximately southwest of the city of Argos near the sources of Erasinos river on ancient roads that once brought into contact Argos with Tegea dominates the imposing pyramid of the Greek, a living proof of the mythical truth wants the marriage of Argeitikis land with the Egyptian culture. It is the best preserved pyramid building of unknown utility and practice influenced the Mycenaean world and the Egyptian civilization. Built on the ancient road connecting Argos with Tegea was probably a form of observatory or outpost. Another version says the pyramid was being polyandreion, ie. Mass grave, while according to another it was fryktoria tower ie. Used to fire sent messages.
On the road from Nafplio to Argos, built on a rocky hill 18m. is the citadel of Tiryns, the oldest of all the Mycenaean citadels. On the road that links Argos Nafplio, is the ancient citadel of Tiryns, built on a rocky hill. The ancient city of Tiryns was one of the most important Mycenaean cities. From the ancient city are preserved – and can be visited at the archaeological site -, mythical cyclopean walls, the only vaulted tunnels, and the palace of palaces, decorated with wonderful performances. The site has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Information Phone: 27520 22657
At the entrance of the port of Nafplion, about 450 meters from the pier dominates Bourtzi frourio- identity of the city built on the island of St. Theodore which was the homonym Byzantine church. Bourtzi which in tourkoaravika means island-fortress was built in 1473 by the Venetians, who wanted to deal with the pirates took advantage of the location of the islet and built the tower with guns Many tourists visit daily boats that run throughout the day. The view is breathtaking.
Palamidi — Nafplio
Above the town of Nafplio and just 2.5 km from the center of the castle of Palamidi, Venetian fortification with 8 bastions, which follows the natural line of the hill. The name given by the legendary local hero of the Trojan war, Palamedes, son of Nafplion. Access to the castle is made either via the road on the east side of the city, or through the 999 stairs on the northwest side of town on the road to Acronafplia. The legend wanted to have 1000 steps. But the latter surrendered without a fight to the momentum of the horse of Geros tou Moria. Whichever route you choose you will be rewarded by the sight that spread in front of you. Information Phone: 27520 28036
One and a half hours from Athens, half from Corinth, Loutraki and Nafplio, in the middle of the most organized and single vineyards in Greece and the Balkans, is the Nemea, a town of the prefecture of Corinthia. Nemea took its name from the eponymous nymph, daughter of Asopos river crossing and still today irrigates the valley and vineyard. Together with the Ancient Kleones, Ancient Nemea, the Kuci, Petri, Aidonia, Galata, Leontio, Daphne and Kastraki are the headquarters and the main grape production source of the variety “Agiorgitiko”, from which produced famous wines with the top wines of designation of origin (PDO) Nemea.
Mycenae was an ancient city of Argolida near Tritos mountain and across the Argolic Bay. The site hosts series of impressive structures that cause awe with the size and elegance. Visitors following the steps of Atreides will admire the “Lion Gate” with the huge relief of the lintel showing two upright lions face to tread onto biconcave altars and separates a Minoan column and around it the imposing “cyclopean walls “. Scattered on the surrounding area and within walking distance is the imposing “Treasury of Atreus” that in him found gold objects and the famous “Mask of Atreus’ gold male facial template.
Τheater of Epidaurus
The ancient theater was built between 340 BC and 330 BC by Argive architect Polycleitus the Younger as Pausanias mentions (32 km – 20 min. drive). The theater was built for entertainment of Asklepios patients but also as a remedy because it was believed that the theater monitoring had beneficial effects on mental and physical health of patients. The ancient theater had a capacity of 13,000 spectators. Is divided into two parts. One of the 21 rows of seats for the people and down from 34 seats for the priests and rulers. The ancient theater was uncovered after excavations carried out by the archaeologist P.. Kavadias, under the auspices of the Athens Archaeological Society in the period 1870-1926. A few years later, in 1938 he staged the first performance in the ancient theater of Epidaurus.
Ancient Epidaurus is dotted with antiquities as the site of the modern village was the city of Ancient Epidaurus (distance 40.2 km – 30 min. Drive).From the ancient city of Epidaurus today survives Small ancient theater of Epidaurus which located in the Island peninsula. The theater is dedicated to the god Dionysus and according to the inscriptions estimated built in the 4th century BC After 23 centuries in 1971 began the excavation while still performed work for full restoration. Next to the theater and the sea area around the island are the ruins of the ancient city, which archaeologists have not yet brought to light. On top of the peninsula and in the area of the yard eklissias Panagia (Panagitsa Island the clamoring locals) are visible the ruins of the castle of the city.
Kastraki or otherwise the Acropolis of Ancient Assini located beside Tolo (2 km – 5 ‘min. Drive), a hill-cape of 52 and 330 meters long. On the 5th millennium BC until 600 AD the citadel inhabited then, while the first citation in Assini made by Homer, which shall state that Assini, Argos, Tiryns, Epidaurus and other places in Argolida participated in the Trojan War with a large number of ships. The first excavations in the Citadel and the Lower City were made by the Swedish Archaeological Expedition (1922-1930) and continued in the 1970s by DEforia Prehistoric and Classical Antiquities and the Swedish Institute.
Nea Kios is a historical continuity of Cius in Asia Minor. Today’s News Kios is a small town of 2,778 inhabitants. Located in Argolis, six kilometers north of Nafplio. As the city has recreation and promenades With continuous perennial participation in cultural events is considered a benchmark in Argolis in this area. At the port of Nea Kios tie excursion boats and boats, while on the banks of the small river that flows into the region, the fishing boats tie up. Nea Kios is a historical continuity of Cius in Asia Minor city of 15,000 inhabitants built at the head of Keanu Gulf of Marmara, headquarters of the Metropolis Nice and seaport of Bursa.
Mani. Proud and rebellious, historical and traditional, unique in every step of the lucky visitor (distance 159 km – 1.5 hours by car). Mani is a historic area of the Peloponnese that covers the Peninsula of Taygetus. Geographically the main Mani or “Mani” as it is called locally, is defined by the nape of Taygetos Sagias and ends at Cape Matapan. The Mani distinguished based along ridge in East Mani or Prosiliaki Mani, facing the Laconic Gulf and Western Mani or aposkeri or aposkieri Mani, overlooking the Messinian Gulf.
Unique, unsurpassed in the course of time, uninterrupted image charming composition of the eastern coast of Laconia in the watery element of Myrtoo Sea Monemvasia, medieval, Byzantine and Venetian castle (distance 216 km – 3 hours drive). It’s magical what you can feel just go through the big gate of the castle of Monemvasia. Suddenly you enter into an unlikely time machine! Especially if traveling time without tourists. And lost in history. Because here, they say, they had fled ancient Spartans nobles. Here is the story continued and sometimes entire families lived, who had knowledge of their home for more than a thousand years. The castle changed hands several times. Formerly it was with Byzantium and sometimes by the Venetians.
The city of Leonidas (distance 129 km – 1.5 hours by car). The borders of Lakonia region remain almost unchanged since antiquity. Inhabited since the Neolithic period (eg 6000-3000 approximately) Laconia was the focus of a turbulent history that its results had an impact throughout the ancient world. According to tradition, the first inhabitants were Leleges, later mixed with the Ionians and Achaeans. From the Mycenaean era, a number of settlements yielded abundant remains.
Candia is a village in Argolida, situated on the coast of the Argolic Gulf, on the route between Iria Drepanos (distance 11.1 km – 10 ‘min. Drive). It belongs to the municipality Assini and its population according to the 2001 census is 235 residents Candia was built shortly after the liberation of Greece by refugees who came from Crete, like the nearby Tolo. She was named after the Venetian name of the island of Crete (Candia) still was in use at the time.
Iria, a small village in Argolida is a quiet destination for vacationers who want to pacify, nice beach, stroll by the sea and friendly people (distance 19.2 km – 20 min. Drive). The area is especially suitable for family vacations. The picturesque harbor with fishing boats and stroll the promenade will allow you to forget about everyday life. In the sea of Iria area is ancient shipwreck of 1200 BC which they have found important discoveries, such as ceramics, vases, jars, and various vessels and a stone anchor.
Laid out in the eastern part of the island, the city of Spetses is a beautiful residential complex with many tourists and remarkable cultural activity. The renowned Dapia the harbor, imposing mansions and houses, flower filled gardens and ornate pebble, beautiful churches adorn the capital. In romantikoteri corner of Spetses, in the Old Port with the shipyards, tie speedboats and yachts, while coffee bars, taverns and luxury restaurants welcome visitors. A special experience is the ride or walk or scenic carriages from Dapia to the Old Port.
Unique residential complex, architectural and aesthetic model, the city of Hydra is built around the natural harbor closed. Imposing mansions, traditional houses with flower filled gardens and high walls, picturesque paths follow the natural terrain, gazing up from the port and reveal the glorious past of the capital city. Shops, cafes, pastry shops and restaurants along the waterfront welcome holidaymakers, who – in the absence of wheeled Island – using their movements nice donkeys. At the port of Hydra, one of the most popular travel destinations, gathered numerous sailboats and cruisers, and cruisers, carrying visitors from around the world.
The neoclassical charm of the country, the pine-covered hills, the tiny inlets and easy access from Athens (either from Piraeus or from the coast of Troezen) are the strong advantages of Poros. The tiny town, port and capital, maintains the pure, aged charm. The simple neoclassical buildings, narrow streets leading to the interior of the settlement and, above all, the beauty of the landscape will make you feel that you are coming back in a favorite holiday destination. It is worth walking in the old neighborhoods, the “Old Country” as the locals call it. Particularly picturesque is the small plateitsa next to the church of St. George and the old aqueduct.